Artist: Yujia Gu

Exhibition: Tracing Gun Violence in the USA

Media: Mixed Media

Gallery: CSULB School of Art, Dutzi Gallery

Website: yujiagu.squarespace.com

Instagram: yujia_gu

Yujia Gu has already earned her BFA in Graphic Design in China before she came to America. Right now she is currently working on earning her MFA in the School of Art’s graphic design program. 

Gu’s exhibit had a very different take from the rest of the exhibits that day. When you entere , the first thing you saw on the wall was images and names of children that had died from guns after Newtown. On another wall , there was a huge projection screen that showed a video with facts and images of shootings that have occurred. The whole exhibition was very straight to the point and informational. Gu explained that her mother had always warned about the dangers that guns bring which led to her inspiration for this exhibit. 


When I first walked into this exhibit I felt like I was walking into a news room. “THIS JUST IN ; SHOOTINGS IN AMERICA RISE”. It didn’t feel like I was in an art exhibit. Personally I really liked it because it was an exhibit that informed me on what was going on in the world today. Not a lot of people know specific facts about shootings and gun violence so I felt like this exhibit really helped open people’s eyes.